Makeup Revolution Rose Gold Lipsticks – Review and Swatches 

Hey everyone! 

I have to finally admit, Makeup Revolution is fast becoming my favourite high street brand. They’ve taken it up a notch with these lippies, the selection of shades available and of course the packaging! 

Not only is the brand ever so affordable but they provide the best dupes for the high end makeup (which let’s be honest, can otherwise cause us to spend ££££’s) 

As much as we’d love to splurge endlessly on high end makeup, sometimes (or most of the time! 😩) our bank balance doesn’t allow it. Therefore, this is where the dupes play a vital role. 

If you remember, I did an eyeshadow palette review from the Makeup Revolution brand sometime ago. I had run out of my favourite ‘ydk’ shade from Urban Decay palette, and was frantically looking around to find a quick fix rather than spending £££’s on the same palette again. 

The reason I didn’t wanted to purchase a new palette was because I had only run out of the ydk shade and therefore a brand new palette was not necessarily needed. I did consider buying an individual pot of this shade at the Urban Decay counter, but they had run out (my luck!) 😢 This is where I thought desperate times call for desperate measures! 


Luckily, I randomly came across the dupe in the Makeup Revolution counter at Superdrug. Prior to this, I had seen the brand (somewhat) but never really purchased anything from it. When I tested the shade on the back of my hand, I was gob-smacked! It was really close to the original ydk shade and I purchased it immediately. The best bit, it only cost £4!! Ahhh I do love a bit of guilt-free shopping! 

So, when my family sent me these lovely lipsticks from the Makeup Revolution brand, I was eager to test them out and share my thoughts with you. 

I received two lipsticks from the Makeup Revolution Rose Gold collection, named ‘Chauffeur’ and ‘Nude’.

So, let’s talk about the shade Lust


Lust is a lovely deep pink/mauve ish toned colour. It’s my personal favourite shade as this colour tends to suit all skin tones. You all know of my fascination with pinks and rose toned colours.

It reminds me a little of MAC’s – Please Me shade, it’s very close in colour and intensity. Surprisingly, they are highly pigmented which is lovely. 

I love the fact that it’s a matte finish. It will look perfect with a natural makeup look or even gorgeous with a smokey eye. It’s creamy, comfortable and wears evenly. 

The coverage and pigmentation is actually really good. I will say, the pictures on the websites don’t necessarily reflect the actual shade of colour. For instance, it looks much darker in the pictures (also the case with the other shade that I’ll be reviewing) but in reality it’s a tad lighter in colour. 

Can we take a minute to appreciate the beautiful packaging. I love the rose gold packaging, it looks pricey and chic. 

I don’t know how well it shows in the pictures but you really wouldn’t be able to distinguish between a high end or high street packaging. Normally, we assume as it’s lower in price therefore the quality is compromised. I really don’t think this is the case here, it’s super affordable and yet a really good quality product. 

I’m going to be very honest, I own many MAC lipsticks and personally I don’t find much of a difference between the pigmentation of these shades and those of MAC. This is huge considering MAC is a very popular brand. Of course, I love MAC but this is a great value based brand if you cannot fork out the extra cash. I would have no problems repurchasing these lippies as for £3, you really can’t go wrong. 

I can see this is as a beautiful summer colour, it’s a lovely everyday shade. Speaking of which, the weather is incredibly beautiful outside. The sun has been shining bright and I am loving the dose of vitamin D! Hee Hee ☀️ 


Next, we have the shade Chauffeur 

Chauffeur is a lovely nude taupe with a pink undertone. 

I must warn you, it looks completely different in pictures. It appears much darker but when you swatch it, it’s almost a very Kylie Jenner lip. I am seriously amazed by the colour pay-off. It honestly is such a gorgeous colour and highly pigmented. 

I’m surprised at the quality of this brand, great selection of colours, super pigmented and long lasting. This is one purchase you won’t regret! 

I have read that this shade is a great dupe for MAC’s Velvet Teddy. I can see why people would say that. It is very similar in colour and because the pay-off is so good, it really doesn’t look like a £3 lipstick from any angle. Isn’t that just great!

Staying power –  for me, the staying power is amazing. You can get good 4-5 hours without re-applying through light snacks. It’s greatly pigmented which means it glides on effortlessly, leaving a beautiful finish. Lust shade is a matte which is fantastic for me. Chauffeur is more of a creamy finish. 

Packaging: I absolutely am digging the rose gold packaging as it excudes a luxurious high end brand vibe. It’s very similar to what Charlotte Tilbury or any other expensive brand would use. I’m so glad that Makeup Revolution have really upped their game. It’s an expensive looking packaging at a fraction of the price. 

Price: Available at £3, do I need to say more! 

I am seriously in love with this brand, Makeup Revolution you have done us proud. I really can’t  wait to get my hands on the other amazing colours… *sigh* this is not looking great for my bank balance! 

Ooh and before I forget, here are the swatches below

(Top: Lust, Bottom: Chauffeur) 

Makeup Revolution is fast becoming the ‘go-to’ brand for finding amazing makeup dupes for the high end brands. As much as we love our beloved high end makeup, it surely feels good to have the same formulations and colour, minus the huge price tag! *wink*

P.s – you can also follow my musings on IG @throughmylens123 

So what do you guys think? Have you tried these lippies.. let me know below 

Until next time, 

Sheema xx

30 thoughts on “Makeup Revolution Rose Gold Lipsticks – Review and Swatches 

  1. Pingback: In lumina
  2. Haha I agree completely, the rose gold packaging is just so luxe! I really want to get my hands on a few more shades, they remind me of Charlotte tilbury haha! Thanks so much for reading lovely, I hope you’re doing well 😘 xx

    Like

  3. I really like the Lust color most of all. I find it interesting that Makeup Revolution is cheaper and you say that the quality is not much different than that of MAC. I have some MAC pdocuts because of its intense colours, but I don’t feel loyal to my country’s makeup MAC whatsoever, so thanks for this post, because now I’ll look out for this brand.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh yes, Lust is def my most favourite, I think MAC’s formulation is def more creamier in that sense, however the pigmentation is super intense (with Revolution) especially for the lust shade I tried.. I love the selection of colours in MAC but I think you can def find an alternative product that’s much more affordable with the same intensity.. I would def give it a go and see how got get on with Revolution lippies.. must say, I haven’t tried them all but it’s been a good experience so far (and at a fraction of the price) p.s they have fab dupes for mac too! 😍 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh yes I believe it’s their new collection lippies in the rose gold packaging, I was taken by surprise too.. must say I do love the luxe feel to it 😁 Thank you for stopping by, of course I’d love to check your blog out xx

    Like

  6. Thank you so much hun! Oh no, I really hope you get your hands on these as they just seem to be so popular. 😔 I really love the lust colour, you’ll find the pigmentation is really good too 😃 Please do let me know how you get on, I’m planning on buying a few more when I’m back in uk.. P.s – I’m so glad you commented as today I was going to catch up on all the blog posts I’ve missed so far, if you get a lot of stalking activity happening later today, please just be warned haha! 🙈😃 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh no, I’ve heard these two shades in particular are very popular and keep selling out. I really hope you get your hands on them, I got mine from Superdrug if it helps hun. I’d keep checking their website, if I come across any that are back in stock I’ll be sure to let you know 💕😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

