DIY – Sharpie Pen Mugs 


Hey everyone! 

If you love Pinterest, then I’m pretty sure you’ve come across these DIY sharpie mugs on there – they seem to be all the rage! 

I’ve always wanted to do something like this, I’d always think to myself, “I wish I could design my mug like that” or “isn’t it so cute”!. I absolutely love this idea as you can make it as personal as you like or tailor make it to suit the person you are gifting it to. It’s just such a simple and easy DIY project that it requires no extra time or effort (or money!)

They make great gifts for friends and family, for instance on birthdays, house warming, Valentine’s, or even as a stocking filler. The list is simply endless! 

So without further ado, lets gets started.. 
What you need: 

Ceramic mugs 

Coloured sharpie pens (oil based)

Mod Podge glue (water based sealer glue) 
Before you start, you may want to practise a few designs on some paper to give you a rough idea on what you’d like to achieve. There are tons of great designs online. I’d suggest browsing through to get some ideas. 

You can be as creative as you want, you can use a multitude of coloured sharpie pens.. I love the glitter pens! (Sadly I had run out of mine at the time!) 😔

P.s Don’t worry about making a mistake, the beauty of this project is that you can wipe away any mistakes along the way. You can use either alcohol or a wet wipe like I did for any mishaps. 

Get as creative as you can…! 

With a free-hand, I managed to doodle these designs below, 



I really wish they come up with the emoji above – I love it!  



You can add an uplifting motivational quote to kick start your day with.. 



Once the ink has set, you can bake it for 30 mins in the oven and let it cool or add a top coat of glue (water-based sealer glue) as I did  on the mug and voila! 

Note: these are not dish-water safe, please use hand wash only

Well done!! Now it’s time to put your feet up, make a hot cuppa in your new mug and enjoy! ☕️

Don’t they make unique gifts, what do you guys think? 

Sheema xx

70 thoughts on “DIY – Sharpie Pen Mugs 

  1. I will I’ve just posted a picture on my instagram @emilythompson_3 take a look! I’d love your feedback, I’m going to do a blog about it then I’ll post the link 🙂 I never realised how easy they are so excited to hand them out as Christmas gifts! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

