Autumn reading.. 

  
“The journey of a lifetime starts with the turning of a page” – Quote 

For those of you who know me, you’d know there’s two things I absolutely cannot live without, one being coffee and the second… *drum roll*..  you guessed it… books! 

I must admit, I’ve not been able to read as much as I would have liked in the recent past, however my move to Spain and all this free time has led me to my first love again. A few days ago, I popped into my local library for the first time and to my surprise, set my eyes on a book by Khaled Hosseini on the shelf. I cannot believe I had not come across it earlier. How on earth did I miss it?! I guess as the saying goes better late than never! 

Khaled Hosseini is one of my favourite authors. I’ve read his two previous books, The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns and they have been very gripping. All the books are set in Afghanistan as a backdrop and describe the emotional and turmoil relationship between each of the characters. I believe the author uses a lot of his real life experiences into his writing. If you haven’t read any of Khaled Hosseini’s books, I would highly recommend. Better still, the Kite Runner has been adapted into a film and is worth watching! 

So, the book that I picked up is called “And the Mountains Echoed”, I’m almost half way through and cannot wait to complete it. It’s a very easy to read book and that’s one thing I really enjoy about Hosseini’s style of writing. They make a good holiday read too. 

I wish Hosseini would write a lot more, I believe he’s written three books till date and because the storyline of each book is so fascinating and gripping, I really wish he would write one every year..  (I know, I know I’m sounding very greedy now!) Ha! 

P.s the above pic I took is of a Khaled Hosseini book, a rose gold Swarovski crystal pen and a beautiful crisp leaf I picked up outside of our apartment 🍁

Happy reading! 

Sheema x

9 thoughts on “Autumn reading.. 

  1. I’ve been meaning to get around to reading “A Thousand Suns.” The “Mountains Echoed” sounds really good too. You’ve inspired me to go and read these awesome books. Reading is one of my biggest passions, and it’s always fun to find new authors.

    By the way, thank you for liking one of my blog posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You must read them as I’m sure you’ll love them as much as I did. You’re welcome again and do let me know if you have any further suggestions about book reading, I’d love to know ☺️ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just found your blog and i must say, it is fantastic! If you don’t mind me asking, what theme do you use? I’m using Libre, but I’m looking for something more streamlined.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Jessica, thank you so much for stopping by and appreciating the blog. That’s really sweet of you! ☺️ Of course, I use the Cubic theme on here, hope this helps xx

    Like

  5. I love his writing style too! I think ‘A thousand Splendid Suns’ is the only book to date that made me cry, like real tears. It was very powerful, in terms of story as well as characters. Somehow, I did not like ‘And the Mountains Echoed’ that much, The starting chapters were very gripping, but for me it was a little drag later. Nevertheless, I would also love for him to write another book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Zahrat, thanks so much for stopping by! 💕 Yes I totally agree, I loved the Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns equally.. they both were my faves, both emotional and gripping. I just didn’t want to put the book down. I felt the same emotions as you about the last one ‘And the Mountains Echoed’, it wasn’t as captivating as the ones before, I felt that too. I don’t think Khaled has written any books since, I’m kinda waiting on it.. I would love to read another from him.. 😃oh and thank you for your love on my blog, it’s very much appreciated 💕😘 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

