Hair diaries – Long and Short of it

Who doesn’t want long luxurious shiny beautiful hair!

Even if you are blessed with a thick  head of hair, a lot of effort still goes into maintaining it. 

  
(Above pic taken in 2014) 

I’ve pretty much have had long hair since I was a child. I’m really obsessed with long hair. My mum had long thick shiny lustrous hair herself, she inherited it from my grandma. So as a child, I’ve always grown up with the idea that healthy hair was very important. My grandma’s scalp massages were the best! 💆🏻

Sadly, I went through a stage where the hairdresser got very ambitious in the salon and to my horror decided to chop all my locks off! I literally cried myself to sleep for weeks. Don’t we all wish hair would grow at a lightening speed! 😔 

Since then, luckily I’ve managed to grow my hair out successfully, but let me tell you it hasn’t been easy. It takes time, effort and patience but is def worth it when you see the end results. So I’d like to share a few tricks that I picked up along the way.. 

  
  

(My hair length after following the tips below – taken a couple of months ago)   

PATIENCE; 

First and foremost, even if you’ve had a really bad haircut (trust me, I’ve had my fair share of those!) patience is the key! 

I know growing out your hair is not easy, but if you have a goal in mind then things will become much clearer and easier. This is the stage where you need to maintain a healthy diet and drink plenty of water. I did this for quite some time after my haircut and it really helped me a lot. 

REGULAR TRIMS; 

These are extremely important for when you’re trying to grow out your hair. It helps to maintain healthy hair growth as well as avoiding split ends and breakage. I would esp recommend if you have very fine hair. I would do this every 6 weeks. 

SCALP MASSAGE; 

Now, this method is my absolute fave and I would do this religiously without fail. I still maintain it even though I’ve reached my desired hair length as it keeps my hair shiny and soft. I learnt this from my grandma as a child and has been the most effective method in my opinion. My grandma would either use Almond or Coconut Oil (or any other oil of your choice) and massage  my scalp and really smother every single strand of my hair with the oil. She would then take a large towel-ish cloth and wrap it around my hair like a turban. I would then sleep in it and wash it early next morning. Your hair feels so soft and velvety.. You can really see the difference!

AVOID HEAT; 

I avoided heat appliances for quite some time after my haircut. I washed my hair every 2-3 days as it worked best for my hair type. I let the natural oils work on my hair so it feels more healthy and shiny. Regular hair washes really strip the moisture from my hair so I avoided it as much as I could. Summers are the best as you can put your hair in a bun or a braid and there’s no need to use heat at all. 

SHAMPOO/CONDITIONER; 

I used a lot of shampoo and conditioners that contained natural ingredients that were beneficial to the hair and scalp. At the time I found this brand called Ojon (quite pricey!) but well worth it. It was very beneficial and I switched my shampoos a lot so that my hair wouldn’t get used to just one. 

Remember….. 

  
Finally, no matter how long it takes,  just remember your hair is growing regardless so just stay disciplined and have a goal in mind and before you know it, you would have reached your desired hair length.. 😍
  

Do share your hair stories, any products you’d recommend, any tips that worked.. I’d love to hear x

4 thoughts on “Hair diaries – Long and Short of it

Leave a Reply

