Another year wiser! #Birthday 

  
Hola amigos! 

So on the 14th of October, I’ve turned another year wiser..! (Or so I hope I have 😁) 

There was a time where I would get super excited about Birthdays like any other person (don’t get me wrong, I’m still a big kid at heart and love all sorts of gifts and surprises!) but as you grow older, you realise that  you can make this day even more memorable by making it special for someone else. The happiness you see on another persons face, the feeling of content is just impossible to describe. 

I’m truly lucky and blessed and appreciate all the love and affection I get from all my friends and family, it truly is a blessing. Sometimes, I think there are so many people out there in the world who struggle for things that seem so basic to us and yet are luxury for them.. I come from a humble background myself but knowing there’s someone who would be praying for a blessed life like yours or mine, makes you realise the importance of gratitude even more. I think in today’s time and age, we take everything for granted.. We don’t earnestly appreciate the things we have in our lives, be it health, family, relationships and more. This life is a blessing to us, we have to find it within us to bring out a positive change within us and others. I know, I know, I’m sounding a tad like a Philosophy Professor now! 😐

As a result, I decided that I wanted to start doing something special for others on my Birthday this year onwards. Of course, it’s not just limited to Birthdays only, you can do this on any day you wish. 

By doing something positive, it would bring much more happiness and peace than receiving things that I probably wouldn’t be able to appreciate fully as much. I’m so grateful for everything that I have in my life, and hope with this I can bring about a subtle positive change to another persons life too. 

It could be something as simple as smiling at someone, buying a cup of coffee for someone in the streets, helping someone with their shopping bags.. I mean the list is endless..! 

  

So, as I start this on my Birthday, I will be doing something special once a month from now onwards.. 

However, as important it is to make others happy and loved, we need to do the same for ourselves too. We often tend to neglect ourselves in the process and it’s imperative that we take time out to enjoy all the things that make us happy. So, even if it’s taking up a hobby, travelling, painting, photography, learning a new language, making friends, … to a spot of retail therapy.. Do it! 

“Don’t let insecurity ruin the beauty you were born with”. 

On a positive note, embrace your flaws for it makes us stronger, unique and beautiful. Never let it get in the way of your dreams and aspirations. If you have a dream, chase it! The only person stopping you is you. Live up the dream king size! (Heck, why not!) 

Be thankful and show gratitude for everything you have, I’m learning to implement this in my day to day life too. 

Sending lots of love xx

  

 

Leave a Reply

